Flashback Friday: The Moment That Started It All

Two years ago I went to my first festival – Coachella 2011. Image

It was one of the best experiences of my life: three days out in Indio with some of my favorite people, hippie outfits and an incredible lineup. It was the weekend that I saw Kings of Leon live for the first time, saw The Killers reunite on stage for a few songs with Brandon Flowers and bought a Jack’s Mannequin vinyl which I had Andrew McMahon sign when I met him. 

Prior to this experience, I knew I wanted to be in the world of event planning, but this was the start of a new dream and life goal: to plan a (music) festival. I found the whole thing fascinating, inspiring and unifying. Thousands of people from all walks of life, cultures and countries came together to sing the same songs and be part of the same audience. It was that weekend that knew I wanted to be part of the industry that created lifetime memories.

About this time last year, I decided to go after my passion after hearing about the Life is Beautiful Festival. It was just a concept coming together when I first heard about it and decided to move to Vegas to intern to be part of the process. It was the perfect time to make a dream come true, follow my passion and cross something off my bucket list.

Today, I’m sitting in the Life is Beautiful Festival office in Downtown Las Vegas. Now the Director of Communications for the festival, I’m working with the team to finalize everything for the inaugural festival.

In just two weeks, The Killers and Kings of Leon will be headlining the festival I’ve been working on for the past 8 months that Andrew McMahon is also performing at.

And just like that, everything will come full circle. 

Here’s to taking a chance and making your dreams come true

Image

xo

Leave a comment